Ronald H. Brown American Journey Awards

About the Awards

The Ronald H. Brown American Journey Award was established in 2009 to honor outstanding Americans who exemplify the vision and transformative ideals of Ronald H. Brown (1941-1996).  Ronald H. Brown American Journey Awards are granted to individuals who have developed opportunities and fostered the achievements of others.  Like the late Ron Brown, these role models demonstrate through their life experiences the importance of mentoring, service and nurturance of a network of leaders in America.  They embody the spirit of the Ron Brown Scholar Program mission and serve as a model to which Scholars should aspire.

Previous Honorees:

Mr. Robert F. Smith
Founder, Chairman & CEO
Vista Equity


Mr. Earvin “Magic” Johnson
CEO and Chairman,
Magic Johnson Enterprises (MJE)

The Honorable Eric H. Holder, Jr.
Former United States Attorney General
Partner, Covington & Burling LLP

Thomas Hale Boggs, Jr.


Mr. Kenneth I. Chenault
CEO and Chairman,
American Express


Dr. Wanda M. Austin
President and CEO,
The Aerospace Corporation

Mr. Earl G. Graves, Sr.
Founder, Black Enterprise

Dr. Regina M. Benjamin
18th Surgeon General
of the United States

Mr. Anthony M. Pilaro
CAP Advisers Limited

Mr. Thomas Hale Boggs, Jr.

Mr. Julian Bond
Activist and Civil Rights Leader

Mrs. C. Sylvia & Mr. Eddie C. Brown
Brown Capital Management

Mr. Norman R. Rales

Mrs. Mona K. Sutphen
Former, White House Deputy
Chief of Staff for Policy
(Obama Administration)

Mr. Aaron S. Williams
RTI International

Ron Brown Scholar Emerging Leader Award Recipients

Terence Carter, RBS 1997
Executive VP, Drama Development,
Programming, and Event Series,
FOX Broadcasting Company

Katori Hall, RBS 1999
American Playwright, Journalist, and Actress

Samuel Alemayehu, RBS 2004

Jason Young, RBS 2000

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *